Worthy Publishing’s Jerry B. Jenkins’ Dead Sea Rising novel review – Rating 9.8

Worthy Publishing's Dead Sea Rising by Jerry B. JenkinsI was contacted by Worthy Publishing as they were preparing to launch a brand new book by Jerry B. Jenkins.  In fact, this one book is the start of what could end up being a 6 or 7 book series entitled “The Dead Sea Chronicles“.   As most of my readers know, I don’t read too many novels for my reviews, but yet again, I couldn’t pass up another opportunity to read a Jerry Jenkins novel. He is a fantastic author and you may know him from the bestseller Left Behind series that he co-authored with Tim LaHaye.

If you would like a very fast-paced novel to read which will turn into a multi-book series, then I would HIGHLY encourage you to pick up a copy of Dead Sea Rising, which is the first book of The Dead Sea Chronicles series.  Highly recommended!

I would give this book a 9.8 out of my normal 10 point rating scale.  On a “5 star” scale that some websites use, I would give it a solid 5-star rating.
________________________________________

In full disclosure, I was not required or requested by Worthy Publishing to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
________________________________________

QUICK SUMMARY:

I was very happy to get a copy of the first book of Jerry Jenkins’ new series “The Dead Sea Chronicles”. This first book is entitled “Dead Sea Rising” and I am happy to say that this book is fantastic!

I did a review of Jerry’s “The Valley of the Dry Bones”, which was a post-apocalyptic novel and I really liked it. Dead Sea Rising, however, is even better in my mind. He changed up his writing a little bit to have much shorter chapters. And I mean really short chapters that vary between 2 to 5 pages on average. It was to the point where I was sitting up at night reading and getting a little tired, but thinking to myself “just one more chapter” and then finding myself wanting to read 5 or 6 more of these short chapters before I fell asleep.

I honestly did have a hard time putting this book down. Jerry’s writing style is engaging and the storyline is gripping.

In fact, there are two major storylines in this book. I won’t give away the plot, but one storyline is of a current day Messianic Jewish family from New York City who is heavily involved in archaeology. The other storyline takes place 4,000 years in the past in the land of Ur (where Biblical Abraham was from). The chapters cleverly alternate between the two main storylines which at first I thought might be hard to follow, but 3 chapters into the book, and I realized it was very easy to follow along as the two storylines develop throughout the book.

I don’t want to give away any spoilers or anything, so here is a quote that succinctly summarizes a portion of the plot from the book’s website:

“Nicole Berman is an archaeologist on the brink of a world-changing discovery. But someone doesn’t want the truth revealed. While Nicole urgently tries to connect pieces of an ancient puzzle, a dangerous enemy is out to stop her.”

In fact, if you go to the book’s website, after a few moments on the website, a dialog pops up where you can sign up via email to get the first 10 chapters of Dead Sea Rising (at least at the time of writing this review).

I was very intrigued in chapter one of this book, but I really was completely hooked by the 2nd chapter. With the short chapters, this means I was hooked by page 9.

I cannot wait for the second book in the series to come out. Per a live chat with Jerry Jenkins, the second book should be available in October or November of 2019. I will have a hard time waiting for that book since I am engrossed in the well defined and intriguing characters in Dead Sea Rising.

Highly recommended. You will not be disappointed.

I received a copy of this book in exchange for this unbiased review from Worthy Publishing and all opinions are my own.

________________________________________

DESCRIPTION OF THIS BOOK:

Type of Book:  Novel (Christian Fiction)
Author:  Jerry B. Jenkins @JerryBJenkins
Publisher:
 Worthy Publishing
Publication Date: November 13, 2018
ISBN-13 of Bible Reviewed: 978-1617950094
Price:  At the time of writing this review, the cheapest place to get this book is at Christianbook.com.  They have it for $16.99– suggested retail from the publisher is $24.99. Please note that these prices do not include any potential shipping charges.

If you would like to purchase this book, please support my blog and purchase by clicking any of the links to Christianbook.com on this page like the one below.  Or if you would like to purchase it as an e-book for $14.99, you can click HERE to do that. Alternatively, you can get it for $13.49 as an unabridged Audio CD by clicking HERE.

950094: Dead Sea Rising Dead Sea Rising
By Jerry B. Jenkins / Worthy PublishingLeading an archaeological dig in Jordan, Nicole is determined to find evidence of the patriarch Abraham. But when a near-fatal cave-in lands her in a Saudi hospital, she’s left with only haunting visions of what she might have seen. Can she recover the secret? The peace of the Middle East may hang in the balance! 304 pages, hardcover from Worthy.

Physical Characteristics:

  • My advance reader copy was paperback, but the published book is a jacketed hardcover
  • 320 pages
  • Dimensions: 6.1 x 1 x 9.1 inches
  • Weight: 1.1 pounds

My Favorite Part:

I am having a hard time picking out my favorite part of this book, but if I had to choose, the character development is phenomenal in Dead Sea Rising. The pace doesn’t really let up very much and I had such a hard time putting it down.

My Least Favorite Part:

I don’t think I had a least favorite part unless you consider having to wait a year before the second book comes out!  I am really looking forward to getting my hands on the second book as well.

Recommendation:

If you are someone who has enjoyed Jerry B. Jenkins’ work before, you will not be disappointed with this one.  I personally think it is one of his best works that I have read so far.  Very fast paced and highly engaging. You will have a hard time putting this book down so plan accordingly!

Company Summary:

From the publisher’s website: Worthy is led by an experienced team of executives, each with an incredible track-record in Christian book publishing. They have come together to launch Worthy, sharing the ambitious mission to help people experience the heart of God. Their vision is to partner with remarkable authors, pouring creative resources and passion into their compelling ideas.
Worthy is a privately-held, independent voice in Christian publishing, and not dependent on a New York-based parent. Its responsive team is hands-on with all phases of the process: editorial, marketing, publicity, sales, and distribution. Worthy focuses on a boutique list of books that cross a broad spectrum of genres: inspiration, fiction, Bible study, current events, devotion, leadership, biography, and personal growth.

@WorthyPub
@JerryBJenkins
#DeadSeaRising
#JerryBJenkins
________________________________________

Please leave a comment or question and I will try to respond a.s.a.p.

– Michael
https://thechristianreviewer.wordpress.com

This entry was posted in Fiction, Hardcover, Jerry B Jenkins, Jesus, Jewish, Novel, Novel Reviews, Other Book Reviews >>, Reviews, Survival, Worthy Publishing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.