Crossway’s Praying the Bible book review – Rating 9.8

Crossway’s “Praying the Bible” by Donald S. Whitney is an excellent read.  Crossway generously sent me a PDF of this book for me to do an honest review.  This book is a very powerful book to help you if you feel your prayer time with the Lord is boring, or you have a hard time doing it at all.

Normally, I do reviews on Bibles and reference books, however I also want to be able to benefit my readers by finding books that I think will benefit their spiritual life or the life of ministry leaders as well.  Regarding this book, I have heard of the concept of praying the Bible or praying the Scriptures and I wanted to check this book out.  Wow – It did not disappoint in any way.
I would give this book a 9.8 out of my normal 10 point rating scale.  On a “5 star” scale that some websites use, I would give it a 5 star rating.
________________________________________

In full disclosure, I was not required or requested by Crossway to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
________________________________________

QUICK SUMMARY:

“Praying the Bible” is an extremely engaging book and easy to read.  And it is not a long book at all, so reading it goes extremely fast – not just because of it being only 112 pages, but the way the author wrote just pulls you in very easily.  The author did an very nice job not only in covering the potential need for this prayer approach, but also gave excellent examples from well known prayer warriors that have used this same process for prayer.  By combining the actual Word of God with your prayer time, this will help give a new life to your prayer life.  In a very practical manner, the author explains the need for this method, how it works, how to do it, and then actually walks you through an example of doing it.  Just that one exercise that he walked me through was awe inspiring.  I know I will start using this method in my personal prayer time. I know it will transform my intimacy with God by giving new life to my prayer time and also being in His Word.  Very highly recommended book!

I received an electronic copy of this book in exchange for this review from Crossway and all opinions are my own.

________________________________________

DESCRIPTION OF THIS BOOK:

Type of Book:  Church Living
Publisher: Crossway
Publication Date: July 31, 2015
ISBN-13 of Bible Reviewed: 978-1-4335-4784-3
Price: At the time of writing this, you can get new from Amazon.com for $11.28 (suggested retail is $13.99 per the publisher)  http://www.amazon.com/Praying-Bible-Donald-S-Whitney/dp/1433547848/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1449290407&sr=8-1&keywords=9781433547843

Physical Characteristics:

  • Paperback
  • Patent (perfect/square back) bound
  • 112 pages
  • Dimensions: 5 1/4 wide  x 8” high
  • Weight: 8.0 ounces

Goal of Book:

The authors’ goal is to give us some practical advice that many of us need when it comes to our prayer life.  He gives a simple approach that is so very powerful in transforming our prayer life with the Lord into a very intimate and invaluable communion with Him on a daily basis.

My Favorite Part:

There are so many parts that are so excellent, but if I have to pick my top two, they would be these.  First, the practical example where the author actually walks you through doing it is amazing.  Actually, I kind of was laughing a little at first because the author tells you to put down his book and do it… no really… put down his book.  I found that urging/encouragement very fun… then I did it and wow, wow, wow!   The second part that I liked for me was at the end of the book where the author encourages you to show others how to do this and gives some pointers on how you can share this method with other believers.

Recommendation:

I would highly recommend this book to anyone that feels like their prayer life is boring in any way.  Or especially to someone that doesn’t know how to pray or has a hard time getting motivated to pray on a daily basis.

Who Would Enjoy This Book:

This may sound a little cliché, but I honestly think any believer that isn’t already using this praying the Bible method really would enjoy this book.  It is a quick read that was very engaging for me.

Table of Contents:

  • The Problem
  • The Solution
  • The Method
  • More about the Method
  • Praying the Psalms
  • Praying Other Parts of the Bible
  • The Most Important Part of This Book
  • Evaluating the Experience
  • What Have We Learned?
  • The Examples of George Mueller, Jesus on the Cross and Christians in the Book of Acts.
  • Appendix 1: “Psalms of the Day” Chart
  • Appendix 2: Praying the Bible with a Group

Company Summary:

From the publisher’s website:  The purpose of Crossway has been, from its founding as a not-for-profit ministry in 1938, to publish gospel-centered, Bible-centered content that will honor our Savior and serve his Church. We seek to help people understand the massive implications of the gospel and the truth of God’s Word, for all of life, for all eternity, and for the glory of God.
________________________________________

Please leave a comment or question and I will try to respond a.s.a.p.

– Michael

https://thechristianreviewer.wordpress.com

This entry was posted in Christian Living, Crossway, Donald S. Whitney, Intimacy, Other Book Reviews >>, Prayer, Scriptures, Spiritual Growth Book Reviews, Word of God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

