the Waterproof Bible

Well, first off, I have to admit that I didn’t see this one coming.  My brother told me he had one of these bible and I had to see it.  Like I’ve said in previous posts, I am in the printing industry and I was very curious to see this bible he was talking about.  My sister-in-law went into their closet to dig it out (they just moved and everything was boxed up).

This is quite the unique bible.  My brother took the bible and opened it up and immediately put it under a running faucet in his kitchen.  YIKES!!!!!!  My reaction was a combination of shock and kind of a “well, so much for that bible” kind of attitude.  Then, he simply turned off the faucet and used a dry towel to pat the pages that were wet.  To my amazement, no water damage to the pages or to the ink happened at all.

Well, to be semi-technical, this can be done without harming the bible (short term water exposure that is) due to the fact that the pages are actually printed on synthetic stock (paper).  Kind of a plastic-type paper that honestly has a real nice feel to the pages.  The ink on the pages is actually very slightly raised because the ink doesn’t soak into the pages like it does on a conventionally printed bible.  It appears to be very nicely made and feels durable.  The publisher’s website and the 1/2 page wrap that the bible comes with mentions that this is ideal for backpackers or campers or people ‘in the elements”.  They even claim that the bible floats, but I have yet to think to myself “boy, I really have this overwhelming urge to throw my bible in the river and see what happens.”.   Who knows, maybe someday I will get brave enough to actually test that one, but not yet.  I would actually recommend this as a good reading bible – it is not a Study Bible with all kinds of different tools and commentaries, but it is a very nice bible.

Below, we have the overall ratings that I would give to this particular bible with a 1 to 10 range.  Keep in mind that when I am rating the Value, of course I know this is the Word of God
Quality:  9 (my copy actually feels very durable)
Appearance: 7 (fairly basic, but then again, it isn’t a Study Bible)
Value: 8 (a little high priced, but if you’re even remotely worried about being in the elements with this bible, I would recommend it)
Innovation: 9 simply because of the waterproof concept and the (unproven by me so far) floating capabilities.
Overall Rating: 8.25

Publisher:  Bardin Marsee Publishing
http://www.bardinmarsee.com/

Information from the Publisher’s website:
• Extremely Durable Synthetic Pages Sewn and Glued into Spine
• 100% Worry Free
• Stain Resistant
• Ultra Clear Text
• Ideal for Gear Bag or Backpack
• Dry Highlight
• Write and Underline with pencil or ball point pen
• No Bleed Thru
• F L O A T S
The durability of the Waterproof Bible gives you the freedom to take God’s Word with you anywhere – lounging, traveling, camping, missions… with worry free confidence that your Bible will withstand the test of time.
Specs: 712 pages, 5 7/8″ x 8 3/4″, 8 pt font
Material: 100% Waterproof Synthetic Paper, Ink, Glue, and Thread

– michael

https://thechristianreviewer.wordpress.com

This entry was posted in Bible, Bible Reviews, KJV, Word of God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

